Skip links

Brief History Of The NBA

National Basketball Association (NBA), is a  professional basketball league formed in the United States in 1949 by the merger of two rival organizations, the National Basketball League (founded 1937) and the Basketball Association of America (founded 1946).  In 1976 the NBA absorbed four teams from the American Basketball Association (ABA), which disbanded that year.

By the early 1980s the NBA was plagued by money-losing franchises, low attendance, declining television ratings, and limited national appeal.  The league soon rebounded under the leadership of David Stern, NBA commissioner from 1984, who helped transform it into an international entertainment company.  Aggressive marketing highlighted star players such as Michael Jordon and Magic Johnson, etc.  Other innovations included league limits on player salaries, lucrative broadcast rights for network along with cable television, and expanded the yearly ALL STAR GAME festivities.

The NBA membership was divided into two conferences, each with three divisions. There were 30 teams.

The top-ranking teams at the end of each season engage in a play-off to determine the NBA champion, which claims the title of world champion.  In my opinion, the most outstanding team in NBA history was the Boston Celtics, in the Eastern Conference, which, was led by center Bill Russell.  While he was center, they won 11 of 13 titles from 1956–57 to 1968–69.  Other dominant clubs were the Minneapolis, which later became the Los Angeles Lakers in the 1950s and in the ’80s, and, of course, the Chicago Bulls in the ’90s under Michael Jordon.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a comment